Westgate Hotel - San Diego

Testimonials

Exceeding expectations

The testimonials below reflect only some of the people who have chosen to write to us about meetings, conventions or weddings held at The Westgate.

November 2012

On 3 November we held my daughter's wedding reception at the Westgate Hotel and were overwhelmed with every aspect of service that your staff provided. From the start of the planning through the actual event we found Mrs. Anna Geiss-Travis to be a pleasure with whom to work. Her organizational and planning skills were only topped by her customer service abilities. She gave us all of the attention that we needed and her attention to detail was evident everywhere we turned. The food and presentation were excellent and the setting made the day for my daughter and new son-in-law. Thank you for taking first rate care of us on 3 November and for the outstanding service that Anna performed to ensure that your hotel will remain a big part of a very memorable day.

Sincerely,
Jim G.
Colonel, U. S. Marine Corps (Retired)

September 2012

We had a beautiful, romantic, perfect wedding. We held our ceremony on the third floor terrace, it was so nice to have an outdoor wedding in front of a fountain, and yet be above the streets away from passerby’s. We then held our reception on the second floor in the Versailles ballroom with dinner and dancing. The food was magnificent, I am a foodie so I am picky about the food and it was amazing. The most tender steak, handmade ravioli, and succulent salmon. I cannot thank the staff enough for all of their work especially Anna, the day was perfect. I was able to sit back and enjoy our wedding. Not to mention the beauty of the hotel. We have beautiful, elegant pictures that were taken all over the hotel. I would have my wedding again at The Westgate Hotel in a heartbeat. Our guests loved the beauty and charm of the hotel and could not believe how perfect it was.

Mary and Matthew

September 2012

Anna and the Westgate hotel were amazing during the entire wedding process and our big day, I can't rave enough about the unbelievable service my wife and I got and would recommend the Westgate (especially Anna) to anyone looking for a beautiful hotel with friendly, accommodating service for their wedding day.

Our wedding was more beautiful than I could have imagined and the hotel made sure of it, the food was amazing (guest couldn't stop talking about it) which is rare for weddings and Anna did everything she could to make sure everything was perfect! She was extremely flexible throughout the process and always there to help guide us and made herself available late nights if we needed it. If you want a romantic wedding with top notch service, I would recommend the Westgate hotel above all others!

Rob P.

September 2012

My wedding was AMAZING, because of the efforts of the great team of Westgate. Anna Geiss-Travis is such a pleasure to work with, she made me feel so easy and taken care of with her amiable and amicable countenance, responsiveness and assistance... Throughout the entire process I felt I was in the best hands. The entire hotel team was so accommodating... Thank you so much, guys!!!!

Gratefully,
Edita C.

September 2012

Our wedding at the Westgate was something out of a fairytale. Everything turned out beautifully and we could not have asked for a more perfect day, or a more wonderful venue! Our guests are still raving about the food and how beautiful everything was. I can't thank Anna enough for all of her help over the past year of planning. She was always super flexible and really let us customize everything to make it personal to us. I really appreciated that she was always up front about pricing and that there were no last minute hidden fees, it made everything so much easier when planning our budget! But most of all she was SO much fun to work with! She really made the whole process so much fun and we will miss working with her. If we could do it all over, we would not have changed a thing.

Thank you so much again!!!
James and Mandy R

July 2012

Dear Mr. Cox:

I want to express to you what a pleasure it was to do business with your immensely qualified team of professionals. I live in the Palm Beach area and do quite a bit of business with many five star resorts but they could certainly learn a thing or two about customer satisfaction from the team at the Westgate Hotel.

To begin with, the ambience at the Hotel is pure European charm and elegance so missing and longed for in today’s society. From the moment I was lucky enough to have a friend recommend Eric Rimmele and the Westgate Hotel to the moment I left on July 25, 2012 my experience was nothing but sheer delight in meeting my every expectation.

My first experience at the Hotel was in February when we came to visit the property for the first time to select a venue for my son’s rehearsal dinner. When I set eyes on the property I knew that nothing else would do. Then we met Shaddha Carlin who was an absolute delight on top of being the most professional and charming Concierge I think I have ever encountered. Our every wish was her command and we knew we would never settle for any other place.

Sergio who was in charge the evening of the event was also so accommodating and terrific. He made sure the napkins and menus were placed perfectly on the table and even made adjustments with the bar service when things ran a little early. His attention to detail was terrific, when I needed a substitute sorbet for six young children in attendance he was quick to solve the problem with panache.

David and Catherine at the front desk were always wonderful when I needed to swap rooms for people or have things held at the front desk for various people. They were extremely kind and always most gracious.

I did not get to meet the Chef personally, but all the meals at the Westgate were a gastronomical delight and all my guests just raved about the food and the service.

Even dear Cody the bellman was most professional and helpful at all times. He remembered us each time we returned to the hotel.

Everyone knew our names and always greeted us warmly. The attention to detail by each and every staff member was unprecedented. If ever there was a Hotel and staff that should be five-star, it is the Westgate Hotel. I want to add that I do not give out this praise lightly; I was in food service for 27 years and won an IFMA Silver Plate in 1995, so I know excellence when I see it.

You and all your staff should be very proud of the outstanding job that you do each and every day.

With Warm Regards,

Joy B. Miltenberger

June 2012

Anna was amazing and extremely helpful throughout our wedding planning! This hotel is the perfect venue for any event, but if you are looking to have a gorgeous wedding venue you can end your search here!

Bretagne F.

May 2012

Everything was perfect, from the food to the staff to the venue, and especially Anna, who was accommodating, courteous, friendly, professional, flexible, and all-around wonderful to work with! The author that was the featured star of our Fancy Nancy Tea Adventure asked if she could come back on an annual basis because out of the hundreds of teas she’s attended over the years, the Westgate was the best!

Susan M.
Adventures by the Book

April 2012

The combined team effort of the Sales/Convention and Service staff in assisting to plan and execute a successful event was excellent! Anna was very helpful and friendly; Abel was very considerate of our needs during event; Alberto handled our lunch group very well. When we plan our next alumni event or visit to San Diego, we will definitely consider the Westgate Hotel.

Giuseppe N.
Pepperdine University

March 2012

Hi Anna!

Thank you so much for everything! The event was perfect and the roomwas absolutely beautiful. Everyone was so happy, and the entrees and teas wereperfect.

Morgan

September 2011

The Westgate is a lovely and unique venue in the heart of downtown San Diego with such an Old World European flair. The ballroom details are absolutely charming and gorgeous. Intimate and inviting— quite the balance to strike, but they've done it well. The event staff is well-organized, professional and friendly. Anna Geiss is an absolute pleasure to work with and our bride was very pleased with the level of service she received. And their day turned out to be lovely! The food was AMAZING too! So well done! Looking forward to our opportunity to photograph this gorgeous and elegant venue!

La Vida Creations

September 2011

The Westgate Hotel is a world-class facility that sets the standard for a 5-Star wedding venue in downtown San Diego, CA. In addition to a gorgeous location this venue offers a timeless approach to stellar service and impeccable food. This facility truly values each and every client, always working to meet all needs and going above and beyond to satisfy their requests. Anna Geiss – Travis and her team at The Westgate are amongthe best that we have ever encountered. Choosing the Westgate as your wedding venue, bridal luncheon spot, or as a hotel for visiting guests will be one of the best decisions you make. Want specific examples? Please send us an email as we are happy to provide additional examples of incredible Westgate service.
monica@eventityinc.com

Eventity, Inc.

September 2011

What a beautiful hotel! There is nothing like the Westgate in San Diego if you want elegance and European style beauty. Their food is wonderful also! You will receive top-notch service at the Westgate and your guests will enjoy a stunning setting!

Bliss Events

September 2011

The Westgate Hotel is a perfect place to get married! Such stylish luxury! There are just so many incredible spots to take beautiful photographs, and the staff is amazing.

Acqua Photo

August 2011

The Westgate's excellent staff, impeccable service, andlavish European setting created a perfect fairytale day for our daughter andher new husband. Our guests had the ultimate San Diego experience ---a ceremonyoverlooking the entire city, a gracious outdoor cocktail party, and a superbdinner served by a host of polished wait staff in a crystal ballroom. Our everyrequest was attended to swiftly and unobtrusively from the beginningwalk-throughs to the final clean-up. As the very detail-oriented and hard-to-pleasemother-of-the-bride, I have only rave reviews for this fine up-scale venue. Myhusband (also a perfectionist) and I have attended or given similar events likethis. After an event, we can usually fill in this phrase: "Next time we dosomething like this, we should ________." This time, we could not fill in the phrase. The day was simply perfection from start to finish. Thank you, Annaand Miguel!

Jerri

August 2011

Where can I begin my review on the Westgate?? I am stillreliving my wedding over and over again in my mind, and my wedding was almost aweek ago! I will begin by saying that if I could go back in time, and have the choice todo things differently, I wouldn't change ONE thing! The Westgate was quitesimply the venue of my dreams, and they literally turned my wedding into a reallife fairytale! The only thing missing was the horse drawn carriage! Not onlydid the Westgate accommodate my every request, but they accommodated everyrequest with class and sophistication. Not once was I nervous about thebusiness of the day, because I knew Anna and Miguel were overseeing EVERYTHINGto ensure us the most perfect day possible. And, let me tell you that it wasPERFECT. Not ONE thing went wrong! Our guests were all at ease, my weddingparty was having a great time, and more importantly, my family, my husband andI were all stress-free and happy!! Anna went the extra mile for us to ensureour peace of mind, and I have to tell you, she did it with such ease. I willmiss doing business with the Westgate and with Anna and Miguel. Our experienceis one that we will NEVER forget and we hope to relive it again someday :)

Kasey (The Bride)

July 2011

This is a beautiful venue with incredible service. I am aprofessional fundraiser and have been involved with many galas at a variety ofhotels and other locations throughout San  Diego. This is by far the best experience I've everhad! Our ceremony was beautiful, the reception on the balcony was lovely with aview of downtown and the bay, and our dinner was fabulous. Our guests stilltalk about how good the food was and how lovely the whole experience was. Theband we hired - a ten piece band - said several times that it was one of thebest crowds and best venues they have played at. I highly recommend theWestgate - Anna and all of the other professionals we dealt with went above andbeyond, many times anticipating our needs before we even had to ask. I would doit again in a second and will use the Westgate for professional gatherings aswell. We had around 100 guests. In addition, our honeymoon suite was to die for- I didn't want to leave! From the parking attendant to the bellhop to theevent coordinator it was WONDERFUL! Thank you all so much.

Michele

July 2011

Our wedding turned out EXACTLY as we had envisioned withouta glitch. Our dream was an intimate and elegant wedding, and the Westgate staffwas quick to assist to transform one of their smaller ballrooms into just thespace for it. The one thing I heard over and over before the wedding is "get a day of event coordinator." We did not, but Anna Geiss-Travis,the Director of Events at the Westgate was so extremely organized and hadeverything dialed in, that we didn't need a second set of eyes or hands. Shewas wonderful! Whether you are having a small or large wedding, I would withoutreservation recommend the Westgate.

Kina

February 2011

The most beautiful venue you could find in San Diego. They really know how to throw abeautiful event. You will not need to do a lot in the way of flowers as therooms are so beautifully decorated they do not need anything else. The food isfantastic. They really do an amazing job making sure that you have everythingyou need. The room block was also very easy to deal with.

Mellissa

February 2011

“I can’t tell you how pleasant it was workingwith you and all your associates!! From the workers by the loading dock to thepainters on the 3rd floor and the associates in your office andeveryone we encountered in between, everyone was helpful, cheerful andefficient! Thanks for your part in making Wine and Roses the best ever!”

Jennie Grey

February 2011

Over the last 45 years I’ve traveled frequently forboth business and pleasure. I’ve stayed at some of the finest hotels in theworld (such as the Crillon in Pris and the Villa d’Este on Lake Como). I’ve also stayed in many establishments with a less than stellarreputation (dumps!). Until today I’ve never written a letter ofcommendation complaint to any hotel. A few weeks ago, my wife and I had abusiness meeting at The Westgate Hotel. It was a very pleasant experience. Wewere never greeted without a smile and no request or question we posed troubledthe hotel staff. All of the staff—including the bellman, valet parkingattendant, folks at the front desk, housekeeping, the concierge, restaurantstaff—everyone—were most helpful and most pleasant throughout ourbrief visit. Other amenities that we enjoyed included our attractive spaciousroom, the fabulous cuisine and the exquisite furnishings throughout the hotel.The management of The Westgate has created a corporate culture among employeesthat transcends the exceedingly lovely environment of the hotel. My complimentsto you, and the management and staff of The Westgate.”

Gregory S. Dash

January 2011

Anna Geiss-Travis was a pleasure to work with and very professional and responsive. Miguel, the banquet manager during the event was wonderful. Thank you. I would love to have another event at the Westgate.

Sharon Younan
Younan Bridal Shower Tea